top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefrbot22

Lindsey Vonn.

Two weeks ago, I went to Vail for the weekend. The skiing wasn’t great, because they haven’t gotten a lot of snow, and it was really hot. I’ve been there before, and both times I have skied there I always want to go on the Lindsey Vonn course. She grew up skiing in Vail, and as a girl who skis, I obviously idolize her. She has done a lot for women in sports, especially when it comes to the Winter Olympics. It's crazy to think that she was 17 when she made her debut at the 2002 Winter Olympics. She has the most World Cup Victories of any skier ever. I think Vonn does a good job of showing that women can be super successful in athletics, and also speak publicly about their personal life. She was featured in the Salute to Women in Sport. In an interview about that, she said an important thing that I think is appropriate to mention in regards to feminism. “It’s important to afford all girls equal opportunity in everything, but, as an athlete, I feel that there are some male-dominated sports that put female athletes in their shadow. I get frustrated when I see this, and have experienced it myself, so I am doing everything in my power to push the need [for equal opportunity and access to sports] forward. It’s important we act as role models for the generation coming after us, to allow them more opportunities and a secure place in the spotlight.”


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page