top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefrbot22

Listening to Folklore All Summer

I think I have made clear on here that I am a huge Taylor Swift fan. I just want to point that out again, because I feel like there could always be more music content on this blog. I use music to pinpoint moments of time in my life. I have soundtracks that equate with certain moments, and that is how I continue to survive. This summer I am already making playlists about what I will be listening too. I listen to Taylor's music album by album, I don't really combine it. I have already decided, Folklore will be my music this summer. Specifically these tracks:





To me, these songs encapsulate the feeling of youth and vibrancy. August is the perfect soundtrack to any sunny day. August reminisces on someone's teenage love, and the way that time is so fleeting. The month represents loss and also the feeling of truly cherishing something. There is also underlying tones of deep wanting and longing. Like all of the other songs listed, although the sound seems lighthearted, the lyrics and chords are all complex and were chosen carefully. Her music is very intricate and meaningful.


Seven is a song that marks the end of innocence, and childhood. Usually Taylor writes a lot about her teenage years, not usually her childhood. This song is beautiful because it also has lyrics that point to sisterhood, and deep friendship.

"I still got love for you

Your braids like a pattern

Love you to the moon and to Saturn"


Loving someone to the moon and to Saturn means that they love them more miles than just to the moon and back.


The Lakes (bonus track) creates the most picturesque summer setting. When I listen to this song, I see a small lake covered by weeping willows and huge trees. The water has water lillies, and row boats. This is a total escape from reality. There isn't technology or motorized boats or jet skis. This is a peaceful place, comparable to Heaven.


Betty is the last song I will talk about today. This song also seems upbeat, but is really about losing someone who you love due to your own actions. This was something that you could control, but it has slipped away.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page