top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefrbot22

Graduation & Sexism

There are 9 days left of high school. Single digits. This is almost unbelievable. It feels like so much time has passed and almost none at all. I definitely don't feel old enough to graduate.


I feel like as I have gotten higher in school I have noticed more sexism. I feel like I was oblivious to what was going around me. It took me four years to realize that as much as I have loved school, there is misogyny around me. And I know that once I graduate I am also going to see it a lot of it in college and the professional world.

I think specifically I have seen my male classmates being praised to an extent their women peers aren't. They are doing the bare minimum, but get attention for things everyone else does.


I also I feel like I see a lot of people talking horribly about female teachers for being "mean" or "aggressive". But like I said in my other post, they don't talk about the boy teachers that way. Some of the men teachers I have are less understanding and more strict than the women these students refer to as "hard".


When I enter the real world it will be hard to acclimate to all of this while also making new friends. Will the people around me see things the same way I do? Hopefully. To be honest I am scared of making friends who are feminists. I plan on joining the feminist club at my school so I can find a good support system.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page