top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefrbot22

It Had Better Be Tonight.

Updated: Dec 14, 2021

I sang with the Jazz Ensemble at the winter show. The song I sang was called, “It Had Better Be Tonight”. A lot of very weird things caused the reason I ended up there, and it was very emotionally taxing on me to perform with that group. I had a really hard time reclaiming the song for myself, and making it my own. There was a lot going through my head every time I sang it, and it just wasn’t where it needed to be artistically and emotionally. When I perform, it's very important to me that the experience is entirely my own. I don’t want this to sound self absorbed, but I perform for myself. Obviously I love that I can provide entertainment for other people, but I sing because I love it. But every time I sang with the band, it felt like I was doing all of this for someone else. I ended up doing some more research about the song, and things fell into place very quickly. The song sounded familiar, but I couldn’t quite place it. I then found a video of the movie the song it was written for, the Pink Panther, the 1963 ski one. I was freaking out. My grandpa and I (and my brothers) watched every Pink Panther movie together. We would all sit in the barn at my grandparents house and stay up all night watching them. He passed away in August of 2020, so it felt so special that this song was from something I treasured so much. Then, I read the description of the video. The woman singing the song was named Frances. And spelled with an e!!! I googled her and she also has the same middle name as me, and spelled it the same way. Frances Ann. It seemed so perfect that I was singing this song. Maybe I am making a huge deal out of nothing. But it made the experience so much more meaningful to me.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page