top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefrbot22

I Will Never Leave You

I grew up in a world of musical theater. Not just that, but it was community theater, as you complete each show, the group becomes more tight-knit and personalized. I spent weeks of my life at Nolte Academy, waiting on the side of dance studios to practice my scene and show the people there that I really could sing. There are few faces I can point out from just doing shows with them. I created so many bonds with people of various ages. There are adults that I love dearly because of the shows I have been in with them. But, there is one person my age who I have been lucky to grow up with. My friend Sam and I have been in shows together since we were nine. She goes to West, so we don’t see each other often. But she is still someone so important to me. I think we have stuck together for a lot of reasons, but especially because we are two women who want to take on the musical theater industry together. She is a female role model I look up to even though we are the same age. She is talented, driven, and powerful. We are having a senior recital together this spring. We are singing “I Will Never Leave You” from Sideshow. This song tells the story of two sisters conjoined at the hip, but realize they are both destined for different things. However, they find solace in each other at the end. I think this song is very symbolic of Sam and I’s relationship. We share a love of performing. We have a bond on stage that cannot be replicated. But, we lead different lives. Like I said, we go to different schools, different friends, but we still are connected. I chose to put this on my blog because women in theater deserve to be celebrated, and I have a lot of love for what music has given me. I will never let that part of me go.


Sam and I this year, at an airport in NYC.

Sam and I in sixth grade, after we performed Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

This is Daisy and Violet, the twins from Sideshow.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page